A journey cancelled

7 Sep

For months I have been looking forward to today.. careful planning of things to do, to arrange and cancel. As today would be my big trip to Curacao! For 4 months staying with my best friends, doing what I love most, and the little one was very excited to go to school in Curacao.
The past months we packed a suitcase already full of little things we could use there, got the special mosquito cream since last time my little girl was eaten alive.. Some extra summer clothes were bought, and schoolteachers got in touch with each other. I broadened my network in Curacao, and was looking very much forward meeting everyone or seeing some again. Started a blog to tell everyone about my preparations coming to Curacao, and even got accepted to write for a big travel magazine about living abroad, children and poverty. So all very exciting!!


Now what happened, and why am I sitting here in Amsterdam writing this, while I should be on a plane?
LIFE!! You can plan and plan and plan, and when you are lucky it will all go according to plan. But sometimes it just doesn’t. I always say family comes first, this was my turn to proof it. I am much more needed here at this time, so I am staying. Having very mixed feelings about the whole thing, as I was so excited, but am not feeling bad at all to stay. But I guess that is my positive way of thinking, that everything happens for a reason, and better make the best of everything or you will be miserable. Live and learn.
So now what will I do with a cleared schedule for the next 4 months? Well my little princess is back in school. She doesn’t mind as she is back in her own class with her friends. And can now take dance classes.
And me.. well I already started to look for a new house since my own contract would be running out soon after I would be coming back, but now that changed to, so I am looking for a new place for the 2 of us. I can continue my work for TMC from here much easier. Will look for other work, will keep blogging for my site, MyFashionLifestyle and another new project. I am sure now would be a good time to actually get a steady working contract and get some sort of regularity in my life, so am dusting off the old CV and will have a browse around.
Am I sad not to have taken the flight this morning? Very!! But then well, new chances, new choices and I am looking forward what life brings me next!
xoxo

5 Responses to “A journey cancelled”

  1. Emad September 7, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Nice !

  2. laurahartson September 7, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    this looks amazing!!

    • pinkpress1 September 7, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      Thank you, love your blog too!!

  3. John September 7, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Mooi geschreven. Respect voor de keuze die je maakt..

  4. Raymond T. Fransman (@Raymond_T) September 7, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    So sorry to hear that you have to put a dream opportunity of yours on hold. But I am glad to hear you are at peace with it. And I’m sure your ‘mini you’ is glad that she won’t have to miss her little friends right now either. And let’s face it. Amsterdam would be a little darker if you had left. 😉

    Besides, I’m sure you will find new ways to pursue your dreams sooner than any of us think… ^_^

Leave a Reply

